Single review: “CHOIR JAIL” by Konomi Suzuki

Konomi Suzuki is a Japanese singer who won the 4th Animax All-Japan Anison Grand Prix in 2011 at the age of 14. CHOIR JAIL is her first single.

Release date: 25th of April, 2012

Track List:
1. CHOIR JAIL
2. Zanzou Mirai
3. CHOIR JAIL (Instrumental)
4. Zanzou Mirai (Instrumental)

1. CHOIR JAIL
My first thoughts on this song was that it definitely doesn’t sound like DAYS of DASH. CHOIR JAIL has a gothic sort of theme to it with very dark vocals to add at the start, but then it eventually tones down a bit. It starts off with some sort of organ instrument that I’m not familiar with then the vocals starts to join in followed by the drums and some electric guitars too. It’s got an odd beat in my opinion, but it really works for this song. The rhythm of the song has a really good tempo to it too!
I really enjoyed this so and I also think that it’s a great song, but it’s not as good as DAYS of DASH in my opinion.

2. Zanzou Mirai
When I first heard this song, I thought it was exactly the same, just slower… It has a few differences and played at a different speed, but it’s essentially the same song. This version of the song has a much more sad tone to it, but it still has a gothic ring to it. The vocals seem to be just a little bit nicer, but it’s still a fierce song like CHOIR JAIL. The song even includes a tune similar to a music box which I really like about this song.

All in all, I think this is a good single but not as good as the DAYS of DASH single.I’m sure a lot of people would disagree with me on this though, Moira being one of those people.  Out of these two songs, I prefer CHOIR JAIL  over Zanzou Mirai. 

Thanks to 123 of Tsukiyo no Hikari and Yuki Nagato of Japanese Melodia for recommending this to me! I know I should have reviewed this earlier! I’m so slow at everything!

Rating: 3/5

Austinatious Out!

8 thoughts on “Single review: “CHOIR JAIL” by Konomi Suzuki

  1. I like CHOIR JAIL over Zanzou Mirai as well. It was cool how they did a re-arranged version, and the vocals were still great but I felt the quiet music box and piano bits before the last chorus were hell awkward and weren’t transitioned very well at all.

    • Hmmm, I didn’t mind the music box and piano parts… I did like them actually, but I guess they weren’t transitioned well now that you mention it…..

  2. Well, it all depends on the personal preference. My ears like anything Goth, whether or not it really has that much of a quality value (〃 ̄ω ̄〃ゞ
    Anyways, you’re welcome! I suggest following a news site or something similar if you want to know about all the new releases you might like.

    • Hmm, I guess I feel the same way to Rock as opposed to Goth….
      Maybe I should follow a news site… Ooh, but I don’t know where to start… I’ll just ask Moira!

      • I’ve got a few listed under Useful Sites or something on my blog. Of course they don’t do just rock there’s pop and etc as well. Jame world is a good one. And there’s about a million v-rock news sites if you like that. It does take a while to figure out what you will like or not, I’m still figuring out myself :-)

  3. Kuya, I love CHOIR JAIL! I haven’t heard of the other ones… but anyways, CHOIR JAIL is my second favourite song!! DAYS of DASH is pretty good, I have to admit. Is DAYS of DASH your favourite song?

Leave a Reply

