Single review: “Dead END” by Faylan

I prefer the purple one, but Moira insisted on this one

Faylan is a female Japanese singer from Saitama, Japan, who has had many of her songs appear in video games and anime. Dead END is her fourteenth single.

Release date: January 25th, 2012

Track List:
1. Dead END
2. Soukyuu no Hikari
3. Dead END (Instrumental)
4. Soukyuu no Hikari (Instrumental)

1. Dead END
Here is opening number two of Mirai Nikki and the first song of the single. It starts off with some synths and some (good) screeching, electric guitars, then soon after the vocals come in. I was so shocked when I looked at the lyrics for this song and found out that it’s all in english. I knew a bit was in english, but not all. Anyway, this song involves a lot of guitar rifts and techno beats added to mix with the vocals which is done really well. Dead END isn’t as dark as Blood teller but it’s certainly more rock-y. This song has a swift and rapid beat to it which I really love. Faylan hits a few high notes in it as well but usually keeps her vocals at a low register. I found the part where the instruments dumb down a bit and her voice suddenly hits you, really odd, but after a while, I got used to it. So, all in all, this is an impressive song and I’ve been addicted to it for a while now. If you like fast and rock-y songs, you’d definitely like this!

2. Soukyuu no Hikari
Was shocked to find that this song is the opening for the Japanese fighting game that I just love, Blazblue Continuum Shift Extend. It starts off with a guitar rift which steadily increases in speed and volume with the addition of a few instruments such as the drums really sets up the song as a quick and fast-paced song. Faylan’s voice doesn’t stay low for long in this song, she constantly hits some high notes and keeps her vocals high, but not too high. I think I will just say that there is a lot of variety in her voice in her song. It’s more faster than it’s A-side partner and it keeps it constantly throughout the entire song. Soukyuu no Hikari is an impressive song that is fast and it really has an edge to it.

Faylan’s Dead END is a striking single put together with two fast and rock-y songs where both songs are very catchy. I’m really loving this single!

Rating:5/5

Austinatious out!! :)

Note from Moira: Austin decided to post this review, which was initially from the previous set of reviews, in anticipation for the upcoming releases that he is about to review. In other words, he felt like it because he is waiting for the singles he will review to be released. :p

11 thoughts on “Single review: “Dead END” by Faylan

  1. Aren’t the covers pretty much exactly the same??? XD Anyway I found Dead END to be darker than Blood Teller but whatever that’s just me lol. And there’s definitely no English this song. Only Engrish. But actually I don’t even care, this is my favourite Faylan single, it totally kicks butt!
    Hehe nice review btw,I think you’ve improved quite a bit since you’ve started. I’m curious, which one did you prefer, Dead END or Soukyuu no Hikari?

Leave a Reply

