Single review: “wonder fang” by Faylan

Faylan is a female Japanese singer from Saitama, Japan, who has had many of her songs appear in video games and anime. wonder fang is her 18th single.

Release date: 24th of July, 2013

Track list:
1. wonder fang
2. Blue sanction
3. wonder fang (off Vocal)
4. Blue sanction (off Vocal)

Moira: Regular
Austin: Georgia

1. wonder fang
Wow, that’s a very impressive start to the song. It starts off with the type of vocals we know Faylan by. Hoorayyyyy! ‘wonder fang’ immediately begins with a short, violent guitar sequence right before Faylan appears with strained vocals, almost sounding like she has phlegm in her throat or something. That’s not very nice Moira, I don’t mind her vocals, I find it quite normal. But they do seem right for this kind of music… Enough about that, moving on!! The verses before the chorus (pre-chorus?) have a nice dark, energetic energy to it that sounds really good. Although, I do admit that I’m not a huge fan about how she drags out the ‘fang’ in the chorus’. Most of the track is made up of aggressive electric guitars, and powerful drums, but that’s pretty much it. The only thing noteworthy about the arrangement is its forceful nature, but there is really nothing else worth mentioning about it. I guess I’d have to agree with you there, but it is a pretty good song all in all in my opinion. Yes, as a whole, it’s pretty good, but it’s probably not something, out of her whole discography, that I’d keep coming back to.

2. Blue sanction
Hooray for a BlazBlue song!! I have to love this one, which I do. It starts off with a sort of mysterious tone to it, with of course some heavy drums and electric guitars added too. The first few seconds during the first listen already made me think that this would be the better song of the single. Her vocals in this do not sound strained, unlike in the A-side, and the arrangement utilizes synths and the usual strong rock instrumentation to produce an engaging combination that plays well with Faylan’s voice. The chorus in this is much more better than the previous, it’s got more of a gripping arrangement in it that really just grabs my attention. It’s fast, it has a strong rock tone in it, dark-ish vocals from Faylan, what more could you ask for?? Complex vocal melodies make this song that much more appealing, and I feel as if Faylan is putting more effort into this than wonder fang. I’ve got to say, it’s got an odd ending, (It ends as it begins!) nevertheless, it’s still a very impressive song, it’s got pretty much everything I love, plus a game tie-in too!

We get everything we expect from Faylan, dark vocals with some powerful instruments. It’s everything I love (as stated before). Once again, the song with the BlazBlue tie-in is better than the song with the anime tie-in… BlazBlue always has awesome tie-ins, (Like how you like Asami Imai) This single is a treat for everyone who knows Faylan’s songs and it something very awesome for people who are new to it, well it’s awesome for everyone. Unless you don’t like rock or anison… But if you do, here you go! :D

Rating: 3.5/5

7 thoughts on “Single review: “wonder fang” by Faylan

  1. Contrary to my review, I find I’m also liking Blue Sanction more than Wonder Fang. OK you guys win ^_^

    …Faylan appears with strained vocals, almost sounding like she has phlegm in her throat or something. That’s not very nice Moira…

    1) We are music reviewers. We are not nice people.
    2) But I kinda agree with Austin. Well, actually she does sound a little harsh/breathy (can’t really come up with a good description) but isn’t that how she normally sounds? I also thought that here Blue Sanction vocals weren’t significantly different from her Wonder Fang ones.

    Also I find the Wonder Fang hi-hats annoying now. Like Realization.

    >>end_ramble

    On a completely random note I should really post something soon otherwise tomorrow will be two weeks with no blog activity :-(. Coome on Tsukiyo Powaaaah!

    • Yay, go Blue sanction!

      “We are music reviewers. We are not nice people.” Haha, true that.

      Maybe the fact that the arrangement was strong and violent made her vocals seem more harsh and strained than usual, but that’s just how I heard it at the time, I guess! And yes, her vocals in the B-side weren’t THAT overly different, but I found that, since she used higher notes in some parts, she also used a slightly higher pitch simultaneously, and so her vocals in those parts didn’t exactly sound harsh and strained like in wonder fang.

      Yesss, go for another blog post soon. Will be waiting, woooo! >.<

    • I don’t know if I can be a mean reviewer, and yay, someone agrees with me! (kinda)
      I guess that’s how she normally sounds, but I don’t know enough to make judgements like that, to be honest.

  2. When you have heard her 3 albums, you know when she is epic or not :P
    Or the song is fillerish, I stand in my review as well, Blue Sanction had more punch than wonder fang and made it stand out more.

Leave a Reply

